As I had the honour to travel across our great nation visiting each CAPS chapter I couldn’t help reflect on the beauty of our country, and the values as citizens we hold. As we prepare to celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary of confederation, and CAPS 20 years of existence, we all should celebrate those who had a vision, persevered through challenges, and continue to be nimble in the times of change.warren evans

As our CAPS forefathers gathered to discuss the future of the speaking industry in Canada, I wonder if our founding 4 Presidents (in order) David Sweet, Brian Dalzell, and the late Warren Evans, CSP, HoF, Global Speaking Fellow, Jeff Mowatt, CSP, HoF, considered the legacy they would be creating.

It would have been illuminating to be a fly on the wall and listen in as the pioneers shared vision and formulated the strategy to launch the Canadian Association of Professional Speakers (CAPS), collaborate with the National Speakers Association (NSA), and eventually be part of the team to launch the International Federation of Professional Speakers – IFFPS now known as the Global Speakers Federation (GSF).

warren, kit, patTo establish CAPS, each benefactor endowed $4,000 of seed capital. This generous group included Donald Cooper, CSP, HoF, Brian Dalzell, Jeff Mowatt, CSP, HoF, Harold Taylor and the late Peter Urs Bender, CSP, HoF, and Warren Evans, ,CSP, HoF, Global Speaking Fellow. CAPS launch to stardom would not have been complete without the CAPS founding National board members comprised of Dave Kemp, Maggie Chicoine, Ross McKay, and Patricia Katz, HoF and the founding four presidents.

pat catsThank you to all of the visionaries who contributed their time, insight, strategy, energy, leadership and yes, cash.  We appreciate your commitment to establishing a community that helps its members learn, share, grow and belong, while impacting local and global audiences.

On July 8, 2017 our forefathers’ vision is realized as we celebrate the 20th Anniversary of Canadian Association of Professional Speakers (CAPS)! Year over year the CAPS strategy was built on and realigned to address the members and market demands while keeping the CAPS vision as the guide:  “To be the association of choice for experts who speak professionally.”

So many or our members have contributed to CAPS realizing that vision – and we thank each and every one of you! Our National Presidents have been pinnacle in steering this ship through the evolution of CAPS. When you see them, thank them. Without their commitment, insight, inspiration and yes, I will say patience; our 20th celebration would not come to be.  To learn more about your past presidents visit:

CAPS National Presidents

2016 – Deri Latimer, CSP 2006 – Cheryl Cran, HoF
2015 – Toni Newman, HoF 2005 – Joe Sherren, CSP, HoF, Global Speaking Fellow
2014 – Bob Parker, CSP 2004 – Rhonda Scharf, CSP
2013 – Nabil Doss 2003 – Linda Tarrant, HoF
2012 – David Gouthro, CSP 2002 – Valerie Cade
2011 – Ravi Tangri, CSP 2001 – Jim Beaubien, HoF
2010 – Peri Shawn 2000 – Patricia Katz, HoF
2009 – Shelle Rose Charvet, CSP 1999 – Jeff Mowatt, CSP, HoF
2008 – Colleen Francis, HoF 1998 – Warren Evans, CSP, HoF. Global Speaking Fellow
2007 –  Sid Ridgley, CSP 1997 – Brain Grant Dalzell
1996 – David Sweet

Let the celebration continue as our members, Experts who Speak, have voices and actions that carry.


CAPS Cares about you!






Suzanne F. Stevens, CSP
2017 National President


Photo:  Jeff Mowatt CSP, HoF, Warren Evans, CSP, Global Speaking Fellow

Photo:  Warren Evans, CSP, Global Speaking Fellow, Kit Grant, CSP, HoF and Patricia Katz, HoF

Large group:  Standing L to Right… David Sweet – Founding president, Maggie Chicoine – founding board member, Bill Clennan HoF, Dave Kemp – Founding board member (and founding chair of CAPS Foundation), Brad McRae, Warren Evans CSP, HoF, Global  – 3rd of the Founding Four presidents, Jeff Mowatt CSP, HoF, – Fourth of the Founding Four Presidents, Tom Stoyan HoF, (first inductee into the Hall of Fame).  Seated: Patricia Katz, HoF, Past President, Brian Dalzell – 2nd of the Founding Four Presidents