CAPS celebrates its 20th anniversary on July 8th!

Associations for professional speakers have global reach and membership. While many Canadians belonged to National Speakers Association (NSA) in the United States, and many continue to participate in the networking and learning with their colleagues there, 20 years ago a few visionary folks decided it was time to form a uniquely Canadian association as part of the Global Speakers Federation.

To establish CAPS, each benefactor endowed $4,000 of seed capital. This generous group included Donald Cooper, CSP, HoF, Brian Dalzell, Jeff Mowatt, CSP, HoF, Harold Taylor and the late Peter Urs Bender, CSP, HoF, and Warren Evans, ,CSP, HoF, Global Speaking Fellow. CAPS launch to stardom would not have been complete without the CAPS founding National board members comprised of Dave Kemp, Maggie Chicoine, Ross McKay, and Patricia Katz, HoF and the founding four presidents.

We’d like to recognize the trailblazers who created what we now call Canadian Association of Professional Speakers (CAPS) as a national association with chapters across the country in Vancouver & BC, Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatchewan, Winnipeg, Toronto, South Western Ontario, Ottawa, Montreal and Atlantic. These visionaries established a community of individuals dedicated to sharing their expertise with local and global audiences, while supporting members in their quest to further develop skills and knowledge in their business.


Warren_Kit_Patricia   Jeff_Warren

Many members have since contributed to the association at the national and local chapter level. We’d also like to recognize the CAPS National Presidents during those years of growth.

CAPS National Presidents

2017 – Suzanne Stevens, CSP

2016 – Deri Latimer, CSP

2015 – Toni Newman, HoF

2014 – Bob Parker, CSP

2013 – Nabil Doss

2012 – David Gouthro, CSP

2011 – Ravi Tangri, CSP

2010 – Peri Shawn

2009 – Shelle Rose Charvet, CSP

2008 – Colleen Francis, HoF

2007 – Sid Ridgley, CSP

2006 – Cheryl Cran, HoF

2005 – Joe Sherren, CSP, HoF, Global Speaking Fellow

2004 – Rhonda Scharf, CSP

2003 – Linda Tarrant, HoF

2002 – Valerie Cade

2001 – Jim Beaubien, HoF

2000 – Patricia Katz, HoF

1999 – Jeff Mowatt, CSP, HoF

1998 – Warren Evans, CSP, HoF, Global Speaking Fellow

1997 – Brian Dalzell

1996 – David Sweet

On July 8, 2017 we will celebrate the 20th Anniversary of Canadian Association of Professional Speakers!